Our Story

Our Story

Alfred B. Dixon Elementary School officially opened on November 13,1959.  At that time, it served the new Richmond Park subdivision in west Richmond and began as an annex to Lord Byng Elementary in Steveston.  In the early 1960’s, the student population increased to the point where the school became independent of Lord Byng.

During the last sixty-five years, Dixon has remained at the heart of this community.  It is not uncommon for us to hear from students, parents, and grandparents that Dixon was their former elementary school.  The other observation is that everyone that is part of this community: students, staff, parents and extended family, describe Dixon as a great place to learn and grow – “a great school”.

Currently, Dixon is a dual-track school, offering an English program, Kindergarten to Grade 7 to our neighbourhood students, and a District Early French Immersion program, Kindergarten to Grade 7, for students interested in studying in French.  We have 15 divisions / classes, six in English and seven in French, with a combined total of 340 students. 

Seismic Remediation has also begun at Dixon.  In July 2024, the school district and Unitech began Phase 1 of a five-phase plan to make the school more seismically capable to withstand a major earthquake.  The whole initiative is projected to take two and a half years.